Santiago de Cuba

Santiago de Cuba Province


Santiago de Cuba Province

Country Cuba
Capital Santiago de Cuba
 • Total 6,234.16 km2 (2,407 sq mi)
Population (2010-12-31)
 • Total 1,047,015
 • Density 167.9/km2 (435/sq mi)
Time zone EST (UTC-5)
Area code(s) +53-226

Santiago de Cuba Province is the second most populated province in the island of Cuba. The largest city Santiago de Cuba is the main administrative center. Other large cities include Palma Soriano, Contramaestre, Mayarí Arriba, San Luis and Songo-la Maya.


Santiago de Cuba province has been the site of many battles, both during the war for independence and the 1959 Cuban Revolution, where much of the guerrilla fighting took place in the mountainous province.

Prior to 1976, Cuba was divided into six historical provinces. One of these was Oriente province, which was, prior to 1905, known as Santiago de Cuba province. The present day province comprises the south-central region of Oriente.


The province is rich in material resources such as iron and nickel. The economy, however, relies mostly on agriculture, with large plantations growing bananas, cacao and coffee dotting the landscape. Industry is growing around the capital, as is tourism. The natural beauty of the area is attracting many tourists from both the rest of Cuba and from overseas.




Popolation (2004)

Area (km²)



Contramaestre 101832 610.3 20°18′0″N76°15′2″W / 20.3°N 76.25056°O / 20.3; -76.25056 (Contramaestre)  
Guamá 35516 964.6 19°57′13″N76°44′58″W / 19.95361°N 76.74944°O / 19.95361; -76.74944 (Guamá)  
Mella 33667 335.2 20°22′10″N75°54′39″W / 20.36944°N 75.91083°O / 20.36944; -75.91083 (Mella)  
Palma Soriano 124585 845.8 20°12′51″N75°59′30″W / 20.21417°N 75.99167°O / 20.21417; -75.99167 (Palma Soriano)  
San Luis 88496 498 20°11′17″N75°50′55″W / 20.18806°N 75.84861°O / 20.18806; -75.84861 (San Luis)  
Santiago di Cuba 472255 1023.8 20°02′25″N75°48′53″W / 20.04028°N 75.81472°O / 20.04028; -75.81472 (Santiago de Cuba) Provincial Capital
Segundo Frente 40885 540 20°24′43″N75°31′43″W / 20.41194°N 75.52861°O / 20.41194; -75.52861 (Mayarí Arriba) Mayarí Arriba
Songo-La Maya 100287 721 20°10′24″N75°38′46″W / 20.17333°N 75.64611°O / 20.17333; -75.64611 (La Maya) La Maya
Tercer Frente 30457 364 20°10′19″N76°19′38″W / 20.17194°N 76.32722°O / 20.17194; -76.32722 (Cruce de los Baños) Cruce de los Baños




In 2004, the province of Santiago De Cuba had a population of 1,043,202. With a total area of 6,156.44 km2 (2,377.01 sq mi), the province had a population density of 169.4 /km2 (439 /sq mi).

Municipalities of Santiago de Cuba


  • Contramaestre Guamá
  • Mella
  • Palma Soriano
  • San Luis
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Secundo Frente
  • Songo – La Maya
  • Tercer Frente